Sample Resignation Letter

Below is a layout of our Recruitment Agency standard resignation letter for our Candidates that are about to resign from their current employer.

When you resign it is better to do this in person if possible however this can also be emailed if your manager is not available for a face to face meeting, if it has to be emailed you should also follow this up with a phone call to ensure it has been received.

Standard Resignation Letter
Name (of your Line Manager),
Line Manager Position,
Current Employer Name,
Current Employer Address (each on a separate line)

Today’s date

Dear (line manager name – e.g., Mr Smith, or first name if appropriate),

Please accept this as formal notice of my resignation from the position of (your job title and site/department/division as applicable), with effect from (normally date of the resignation letter).

In accordance with my contract of employment I am happy to continue to work until (date that your employment ceases according to notice period, calculated from your stated effective date of resignation).

(This part is optional:) While I believe that I am moving for good reasons, I am sorry to leave, and I thank you for your support during my time with the company, which I have found enjoyable and fulfilling.

(And if applicable:) Please let me know the arrangements for handing back equipment, company car, etc., and handing over outstanding work and responsibilities.

Yours sincerely,

Sign your own name and then write it in Block Capitals underneath.

Note: Some companies will not wish you to work your notice period, however if you give them notice, even if they ask you to leave the premises immediately, you are then entitled to payment for your full notice period.

If you have any questions regarding this article or require further information, please call us on 0844 2577 888.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Resignation Letter
